Medication, Reflection & Bipolar

I have written a few posts about what I call the “medication rollercoaster”.  For me, it has never been a question of whether to take medications or not.  It has been whether the medications are going to work and for how long.  I wouldn’t say I’m med resistant just yet, but I’m down to about 4 meds that I haven’t tried. It has just been extremely difficult and I know I’m not alone.

I had grown accustomed to a certain quality of care from my previous doctor.  When he retired, I went on a search for a new provider that took well over a year.  I quickly learned just how lucky I was to have the doctor I did have.  Dr. P. would take late night calls if I was in crisis.  He always made time for me if I needed a medication change or a quick therapy visit in between scheduled visits.  That is not the case now.  I don’t say this to complain about my current care.  I have a wonderful care team in place…now.  It took time and few bumps in the road, but it’s not quite the same.  It’s not bad.  It’s just different.

Now, I write all that because the new medication provider I have now seems to be quite good.  I’ve been with her a short time, but she understands my situation well. I’m finally back on a medication regime and, for the time being, it is working.  With caution, I have hope for the medication.  The doctor I see for therapy is just awesome and someone I can trust.  I really think I have a good team in place now.  It’s nice to be able to write that.  For once, I’m not writing about firing my med provider! Hahaha!

With my care in order, I’m able to think clearly and reflect back on this year.  I realize this is usually done at the end of December, but I’m gear up to check off a life goal from list.  It’s seems appropriate for me to do now.  I’ve always said that I live my life with no regrets.   Good or bad, whatever I’ve done, it’s all me.  There are some things I will do differently.  For instance, I think with this blog I might try to more of a conscious effort to improve it.  I think I let more of bad days creep in here than I would have liked.  I’d like to tone down trying to save the world.  Perhaps I’ll just take baby steps.  I’ll take on smaller projects and build up to the larger ones.

Question for the day:  If you were to write a book about your life, what would the title be?

~ Mine?  “If I Only Had A Brain”

Don’t get me wrong, I am quite smart.  I can just be so scatterbrained sometimes.  The title fits me.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Medication, Reflection & Bipolar

Leave a Reply

