Question Time!

Do you agree with this statement? Why or why not?

“Being bipolar is not an illness, but an advantage because both mania and depression give me insights that are not available to those who cannot experience them”  ~ Tom Wootton

I have started an online course called Bipolar INorder by Tom Wootton.  I’m finding it quite fascinating.  I’ve wanted to take it for some time now.  Many of you may have heard of Tom Wootton.  I’m very curious to read your view points to his statement.  I tend to agree with him to the point that those who do not have bipolar will never experience the world in the same way as I do.  However, I’m not quite ready to let go of it not being an illness yet.  Not just yet.  Perhaps at the end of this eight week course I will.  I can see his point.  Once we start seeing bipolar as an identity (like “I am an educator or I am brave.) then the stigma is lost and no longer has any power.  If we keep viewing it as an illness, then the stigma is allowed to exist.  I’m still trying to wrap my brain around this concept.  I can see both sides.  I do see advantages to having bipolar.  In fact, that is exactly why I started writing my blog.

Well, I’ll stop my writing of this post so I can publish it.  I am anxious to see what all of you think.  Remember, there are no wrong answers to this.  Every opinion is valid.

Thanks for reading!

 

7 thoughts on “Question Time!

  1. Well, I feel that bipolar is definitely an illness, one that causes great suffering and death. *But* there is a consolation prize, it does offer insight and abilities as well. My first psychiatrist told me that he felt that people with bipolar had an advantage in intelligence creativity, and I soon found that others agreed. I know that I feel that I’m blessed with both of those characteristics, so I’m happy with the situation for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perhaps it, the phenomena of being bipolar and/or gay and/or autistic and/or… is a matter of perspective. A gift and a curse. Shaped by our experiences. And the experiences of those around us. Shaped by our own attitudes about our differences. Shaped by our emotions and, especially, our fears. Tempered by our hopes and our dreams. Removing the stigma, removes much of the fear. Making way for a society that can better embrace that people have brains that are wired differently. Not in a way that is less than. In a way that can benefit society when we learn to treat everyone with dignity and respect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was awesome! I couldn’t have said it better myself. 🙂 I like what you said about stigma…removing stigma removes the fear. That is so true. People fear what they don’t understand.

      Like

  3. i do see it as an illness. if it wasnt, it wouldnt be in the dsm. yes stigma needs to be stopped, I agree with that but i do think that saying mental illnesses arent illnesses isnt the way to go. i’m not sure what the right thing to do is. educate maybe? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a very valid point. I’m not sure I’m ready to stop calling it an illness. Yes, education is key. I have meetings scheduled starting next week with several congressional members to educate them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

