Losing Our HIPAA Rights

I’m reposting this in light of recent events in Oregon because Rep. Murphy is using the campus shooting as an excuse to promote his bill. Again I say, we are not the ones to be feared. Gun control is what we need. Not a bill restricting the rights of those that account for only 1% of the violence nationwide. Get facts straight Murphy! We all want the mental health care system to be improved, but don’t attack us, don’t shackle us and don’t single us out. Work with us, for we have so much say that is important, valid and worth listening to!  Congress should not make laws based on irrational fear.

That is if Rep. Tim Murphy has his way. Yes, he’s at it again. He has re-introduced his oh so lovely “Helping Families in Mental Health Crisis Act”. Oh my goodness will that man ever stop?! And please, Mr. Murphy, stop calling yourself a psychologist! When was the last time you actually practiced? If it were recently, he would not make these horrendous changes to HIPAA that he is proposing in Sec 401 pages 115 through 120 (look them up people!). I can’t believe that anyone who does or has treated mental health patients would allow a “caregiver” such access to our records. If he ever truly did treat patients, he would know that our privacy is all that we have. This HIPAA situation is exactly what I wanted to speak with him about, but, nope he wasn’t going to listen to me. You may say it’s because of “rants” like this one. But I don’t “rant” until I have exhausted all options in a respectful manner. Yes, I was respectful…well up until the very last email (which I did post for all of you to see). There is the added bonus that I highly doubt Mr. Murphy reads any of my posts. After all, he wouldn’t even take a phone call!

So, we have an already failing “mental health care” system that is over loaded, under staffed, uncaring, uneducated… For those of us that do finally make that gut wrenching decision to get help, we are treated like criminals and/or children that couldn’t possibly understand what is happening to us. Is Murphy’s bill going to fix that? NO!

I understand that family members of adult children would like to have more of a say in the care of their loved one. The fact of the matter is, their loved one is an adult. Whether that adult, in the opinion of the “caregiver”, is capable of making decisions for themselves…as an adult they are. As an adult, if they don’t want to seek treatment or aren’t ready to seek treatment, that is their choice. It may not be the best choice, but it is their choice to make. Allowing people to have information from private sessions with a mental health professional is not the answer. The way HIPPA works now is just fine…I’ll use myself as an example.

My husband can call my doctor and give him all the information that he wants. My doctor will say thank you and that is all. It is a one way road of information, none of my information goes out. Now I have nothing to hide from my husband, but knowing that I have this safe haven to turn to at any time is comforting. If Murphy’s bill goes through, that one way road becomes a two-way road. My safe haven is destroyed. Not just mine, but millions of others. You may as well chain me up now because this bill restricts what I can and can’t say in my sessions…if I even choose to continue to go. Millions of people will be facing this same dilemma. So, if Murphy’s bill goes through, he will have single-handedly made a broken system much worse.

You may feel differently than I do about this and that is fine. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I feel very strongly about this.

2 thoughts on “Losing Our HIPAA Rights

Leave a Reply

