It’s a Beautiful Day!

Today I went for coffee with a very dear friend.  It was just what I needed to get me out of this funk I’ve been in.  It reminded me that we need to make time for each other, no matter how far apart we are.  I’ve been having issues with some good friends that live far away from me…nothing they’ve done.  I’m sure it’s all in my bipolar brain.  I hope the friendship can survive.  They mean the world to me.

A few months ago, I had to cut ties with a friend for my mental health safety.  It was a very difficult decision to make.  It was one I did not make lightly.  I sometimes wonder if that is what is happening with my friends that live far away.  I had to cut ties with this certain person because I was beginning to spiral downward and that wasn’t good for me or my family.  I’m wondering if these friends of mine are doing the same thing?  I’m not upset with them at all.  In fact I would completely understand if that’s what is happening.  I’ve always said that you have to put your mental health first.

I ran into my old therapist while I was out today.  She asked if I still saw “x” (have to protect her identity).  When I told her that I had to let that friendship go, she completely understood.  Maybe because it’s Christmastime, I’ve been thinking  about “x” and wondering if I really did the right thing.  I know I did the right thing for me ,but what about her?  Well after my encounter today, I received the validation that I needed.  It was the right decision.  I still feel bad about it, but I had to put myself and my family first.  There was just too much at stake.

So, at Christmastime and any other time of the year, hold your friends and family close.  Friendship is truly a blessing.  You never know how long a person will remain in your life, so treasure each moment with them.  Don’t have any regrets.  Regrets only hold you back.  Instead, look upon everything as an experience that either you or someone close to you can learn from.  I’m not sure when I’ll be posting again as I’m super busy with family and making stained glass.  I will post when I can and when I feel that it is something you all want to hear about.

So, I wish everyone the very happiest holidays!

So I’ll leave you with one of my favorite U2 Christmas songs.  Yes, U2.  It’s always U2!  ;)\

One thought on “It’s a Beautiful Day!

  1. guy sabol says:

    I am a retired person ;playig lefty guitar , diag 1992 as bipolar,after taking Li for 25 yrs Dr said I can stop taking it..ny bibles are C A I R ::changing attitudes in Recovery.(Modesto CA),and john Bradshaws ::: Homecoming aid ones inner child…I am happily ?? holding on to thin air.

    Like

Leave a Reply

