Momentum? What Momentum?

About a week ago I had this grand idea of unifying the mental illness community.  I had a few people interested in helping.  I went to a some mental health organizations (not the ones mentioned in the last post) with my idea.  I have heard nothing from these organizations.  They say they want to advocate for the mentally ill and that they want to advocate legislatively, but when push comes to shove, they remain stagnantly silent.  I think they like the idea of all that, but lack the courage to really DO anything.  Even if my idea may not have been as great as I thought it was, you would think I would at least get some kind of response.  Perhaps just an acknowledgement of my email.  Oh well, maybe I’m hoping for too much.  I’m not going to quit.  I’m just trying to wrack my brain for an idea that will work.  I guess it is a continual work in progress.

So, on to more pleasant happenings.  As you all know, I have an art website (www.facebook.com/groups/mindandsoulart) called Mind and Soul Art.  I donate 50% of the proceeds of the stained glass art to the charity of the buyer’s choice.  It is a continual fundraiser.  It has been going quite well.  It has also opened my eyes to other charities, not just mental health and suicide prevention.  I have met some wonderful people that do a tremendous amount of good work for not only my community, but across the nation.  When I get discouraged about “fighting the good fight” for mental health, all I have to do is look to the people that purchase my artwork to renew my faith in this world.  There is so much more good in this world than negative if we just take the time to look around.  It just amazes me.  A lot of the organizations that have benefited from my artwork are not national nonprofits.  They are small, local nonprofits just trying to make a difference in their community.  These are the people I aspire to be like.  The ones that give so generously of their time for the joy of helping others, not for the attention or glory.

I have a challenge for you.  Look within your own community to find these organizations and help them.  They do not receive any government funding.  They rely solely on the generosity of the community in which they reside.  When you find these organizations, post there websites (if they have one) on here, on your own page.

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Momentum? What Momentum?

  1. It’s your personal e-Coach DyDy who loves to encourage you to keep up with your wonderful workouts!

    You actually inspired me the other night to haul my ass on the NordicTrack….I wasn’t going to blow it off, but your comment got me going sooner and with a little more ooomph!

    It starts with you and caring for yourself. Keep it going….in the name of LOVE! Once more in the name of love!

    xoxoxox
    Coach DyDy

    p.s. I am so sorry that you didn’t even get an acknowledgement from the mental health organizations you contacted – not even a one-liner. R-U-D-E! I had similar things happen regarding a different mental health-related topic – and get this – I even wrote to an organization that was affiliated with my mother’s alma mater that I would DONATE MONEY to their organization and I still got blown off. Wow. When the promise of money doesn’t even make a dent, you gotta wonder!!!

    So try not to think about it too much – easier said than done. Keep your eyes on the prizes in your life….you, your family, your artwork & those who purchase it, the other charities you mention, your friends…..and your blog!!!!!!! Don’t stop writing! we are here to support you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

