What Can I Say, Hiatus Over!

I know it was just the other day that I said was throwing in the towel (I’ll chalk it up to a bipolar swing), but between all of the supporting comments and now this:

http://www.peteearley.com/2014/11/03/complaints-modern-family-continue-70000-readers-growing/

Over 70,000 people living with a mental illness and people who have been effected by it through a loved one came together and said “Enough is enough!”  I honestly thought what I was saying was falling on deaf ears.  Now the show still has not made any formal apology, but I think the most important thing here is that over 70,000 of us spoke up!  This proves to me that unification of the mental health community is possible!

So here’s my idea.  It may be difficult to for all of us to meet in one state.  My thought is that each state should have a general caucus of the mental health community.  Out of each one of those, we will have an idea of how we want to proceed and what we feel is best, legislatively, for our national community.  I would want each state to choose 2-3 representatives and then we could meet in a central location so as to ease travel costs.  The meeting of all 50 states’ representatives would then discuss what each state came up with.  From there, we can congeal it all into one common purpose.  I think the initial state meetings should take place no later than July and the national meeting should take place in August.  At the national meeting we can discuss how we want to form as a non-profit and all that goes with that.

This is just a very rough idea.  I will fine tune it.  If you’re interested, please let me know.  I’ll also need to know what state you’re from so I can keep track.  I’ll take on Washington State.  If anyone else from Washington would like to help me, that would be wonderful.  I know we can do this!  Let’s use this momentum that we’ve started and carry it through.

11 thoughts on “What Can I Say, Hiatus Over!

    1. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! You’ve made my day. I’ll put down for Pennsylvania. If anyone else decides to help you, just let me know so I can have an accurate list. I think I’m back in the game now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Susan, that was a very short-lived hiatus! 🙂 Welcome back, but remember to take care of yourself first and foremost. Pretty awesome the grassroots movement out there. We are coming out and standing up for ourselves. Perhaps we need not reinvent the wheel from scratch.

    I understand that the Mental Health Consumer/Survivor Movement has a history (http://promoteacceptance.samhsa.gov/archtelpdf/history_consumer_movement.pdf) and that there is at least one national consumer group out there already: The National Coalition for Mental Health Recovery (http://www.ncmhr.org/), whose mission statement I quoted below.

    Mission: The National Coalition for Mental Health Recovery (NCMHR) will ensure that consumer/survivors have a major voice in the development and implementation of health care, mental health, and social policies at the state and national levels, empowering people to recover and lead a full life in the community.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Timiarah Camburn says:

    Reblogged this on Timiarah.com and commented:
    Yay, I was happy to read that Susan decided not to give up, and that she has a plan for bigger things. I was equally happy to read that more than 70,000 people spoke up for the mentally ill community with “Modern Family” complaints. Therefore, I reblogged this. We could use some help.

    Like

    1. You can start with a great organization called “Walk in My Shoes”. They promote mental health awareness. They may have an advocacy component to their group. I’m not sure, but you can always offer to help with advocacy. I could help you along the way if you need it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

