My Last Advocate Post

I’ve decided to stop advocating.  My experience with Congressman Murphy has taught me that one person cannot make a difference.  I can’t even get my voice heard.  It’s cowardice on his part, but a lesson for me.  Unless you belong to an organization with money, you get nowhere with Congress.

I have tried for years believing I was making some kind of a difference, but really what did I accomplish? I accomplished the goals of an organization that really didn’t value the true needs of those of us with a mental illness.

Whether or not Murphy’s bill passes, we still have a lack of psychiatrists, a lack of psych beds, a lack of good quality care in this broken mental health system.  When pdocs want you to fill out paper work prior to an appointment to see if you’re a “good fit” for them, there’s a real problem.  When pdocs can’t take on any new patients because they are already overloaded, there’s a problem.  When someone in a rural area can’t find a pdoc within 100 miles, there’s a problem.  These problems won’t be addressed until people with a mental illness speak up!  I’ve tried, but I’m tired of doing it alone.

Sorry to be so negative in this post, but the wind has just been taken out of my sails.

14 thoughts on “My Last Advocate Post

  1. Hi,
    Sorry that you are discouraged. Sounds like you’ve had a hard road. That said, I want to offer that one person can make a difference. Your voice is your greatest asset. Maybe you won’t see change right away, but I sincerely hope you don’t give up.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Susan, you are right:

    – we lack psychiatrists
    – we lack psych beds
    – we lack good quality care
    – our mental health system is broken
    – mental health care workers, including pdocs, are overwhelmed
    – many pdocs refuse to accept MediCare, so those of us on disability and receiving MediCare are out of luck
    – rural areas lack both pdocs and quality medical care of any type

    Finally: Yes, we with mental illness must speak up! You are not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Kitt O'Malley and commented:
    Susan Zarit of Bravely Bipolar is right:
    – we lack psychiatrists
    – we lack psych beds
    – we lack good quality care
    – our mental health system is broken
    – mental health care workers, including pdocs, are overwhelmed
    – many pdocs refuse to accept MediCare, so those of us on disability and receiving MediCare are out of luck
    – rural areas lack both pdocs and quality medical care of any type
    We with mental illness must organize and speak up! We are not alone.

    Like

  4. Dear Susan,

    I am African, a Cameroonian, and one of the few you will ever come across in a long time who talks so openly about her own mental issues and mental health in general. I am a pretty lone voice, starting from within my very own family. Curious to know my brother was diagnosed with bipolar in 2007, but I only knew this June after harassing on end. He died last August 2nd. I just wrote his book to be published next month. It was outright denial, stigma and all. I can’t even dream of approaching public figures in my country now – the challenge is even the mentalities of people including family of mentally ill. I am not giving up – I may take a break every now and then but I know someday, surely long after I’ve gone, my name or efforts will come around. And so, you don’t give up!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for that. I am truly sorry that you are having such struggle with your family. It does make me think. Maybe I should just take a break from it for awhile and not give up. You have inspired me. Thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Placid's Place says:

    Hey Susan, I’ve felt for a long time that if i even alter one persons perception of bi-polar or mental illness then that is enough. If that person then alters someone else’s perception of bi-polar then thats enough. Slowly slowly wins the race… yes, its diabolical that we don’t have the understanding, help, support or services but its blogs like these where I find my greatest solace… So thank you for speaking out… we are not alone – not here!

    Like

  6. Please don’t give up, Susan. You ARE making a difference. We all do what we can and you are helping people you don’t even know you are helping. I understand how discouraging it can be and there have been times when I feel like I am not accomplishing things. However, I come to the realization that I just have to do the best I can. By just writing your blog you are advocating by raising awareness. I hope you choose to keep doing what you are doing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

