Victim or Victor

Yes, it’s true…We have bad days, even horrific days, but not always. So when asked about your mental illness, do you say you suffer from it or live with it? There’s a world of difference in those two responses: one implies you are a victim of the illness and the other empowers you. Which are you?

My response (ever since I attended my first support group) has been: I have/live with Bipolar Disorder. If I had cancer, I wouldn’t say that I suffer from cancer. I would say that I live with or am fighting cancer, making the point that I am not a victim…I am a survivor.

Leave a Reply

